Jun, 2016, Performance in Japan

I will go back to my home town, Kyoto, Japan this end of May to perform couple of Jazz shows with my friends in Japan. These shows are unique events, so I would like to introduce each gig of highlight to you.

・Jun 1st, Wed
venue: 「Komu – うまいもんや こむ」(Japanese restaurant)
2016.6.1.こむJAZZ liveフライヤー
performer:
Shu Odamura(g)
Ryoju Fukushiro(ts)

Japanize full‐course meal of French cuisine with free drink
¥5,000 / per parson

Time:
7:00pm ~ 9:00pm

Kyoto city is where Shu Odamura, guitarist and I  was born and grew up. After high school graduation, Shu had gone to Boston, MA to gain his Jazz composition abilities at Berklee College of Music. He graduate there with Toshiko Akiyoshi Award, then move to New York City. He was hired as a film music maker of the independent movie “The Wishmakers”. Also, his minimal-music piece “Kitchen Talk” that was selected to air on Ryuichi Sakamoto’s radio program in Japan. In 2016, he released debut album, “Cloud Illusions” (What’s New Records.) The album is reviewed in Jazz Life and Jazz Japan Magazine. His remarkable guitar (nylon string) sound is the tinge of him.

In 2013, I (Ryoju) decided to re-learn Jazz music in the New York City. Since then, I went to Manhattan School of Music, and am current student of Queens College (Aaron Copland School of Music). I’ve been performing mainly in Harlem, at “Paris Blues” with pianist, Antoine Dowdell since September, 2015. This constant performance works mean to me a lot. My current project is to form my original unit and sound influenced by atmosphere of Harlem. Just finished recording with, Craig Haynes(ds), Lonnie Plaxico(ds), Michael Raye(p) the other day.

If you are interested listening Shu and I playing in Kyoto, I would like to welcome you to this show.

Reservation:

ryojumusica.info@gmail.com  (Ryoju Fukushiro -Riyo-)

 

Access: Japan, 〒606-0833 Kyōto-fu, Kyōto-shi, Sakyō-ku, Shimogamo Maehagichō, 左京区下鴨前萩町5-6

 

Leave a Reply

